Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


The Department of Sociology Spring 2024 undergraduate awards for inclusive excellence

The Department of Sociology is proud to offer two undergraduate awards for spring 2024: The W. E. B. Du Bois Scholarship Award and the Ida B. Wells Activism/ Community Service Award. These awards highlight undergraduate students who are working to promote inclusion on campus or in the community. We seek students who are dedicated to advancing social justice by creating inclusive and equitable spaces welcoming to all people. This can take many forms, including:   

  • Original scholarship advancing the interests of marginalized individuals, groups, and communities.
  • Planning and coordinating volunteer efforts at local homeless shelters, food banks, religious institutions, etc.
  • Creating and promoting original content (e.g., podcasts, videos, flyers) that raises awareness about social justice. 

The W. E. B. Du Bois scholarship award promotes inclusion through academic contributions (e.g., a term paper, academic presentation, research proposal), while the Ida B. Wells activism award promotes inclusion through community outreach (e.g., coordinating food and clothing donations, leading an organization for underrepresented students).   

Do you or someone you know fit this description?  Please apply or nominate someone below!  We encourage self-nominations. Each winner will receive a certificate and $250, presented at the Sociology graduation ceremony in spring semester 2024.   

Who is eligible?

  • All currently enrolled undergraduate students at UGA who have taken at least one sociology course.  Students can only be considered for one of these two awards, either through the scholarship or activism track.  



Click here to apply! Nominations are now closed. Check back in Spring 2025 for the next nomination window!

To receive full consideration, please apply by April 1, 2024 at 5:00 p.m.